“Industry 4.0”: What was once an ambitious vision of the future has now definitely become a reality. This is what our team found at Sandvik Coromant’s production plant in Sweden. In cooperation with our client Okuma Europe the leading manufacturer of tools and tooling solutions has created an intelligent production cell, capable of completely unmanned 24/7 production.

Aside from a state-of-the-art multitasking machine, Okuma provided a customised software solution enabling seamless communication between a robot for tool changes, Sandvik Coromant’s production planning system and the Okuma machine. 

Of course we had to see this for ourselves! To research a case study on-site, two of our editors made their way to the small town of Gimo, Sweden. Here, Sandvik Coromant has established one of the world’s largest tool factories housing the new production cell. In our on-site interview, Sandvik Coromant’s Production Unit Director Tools put the company’s vision for the future in no uncertain terms: “We want to create the world’s best factory”. 

The story of how Sandvik Coromant and Okuma worked towards achieving this ambitious goal is now being told in multiple trade magazines around the world.

Case Study: Ausflug in die Smart Factory

„Industrie 4.0“ – was lange Zukunftsmusik war, ist heute eindrucksvolle Realität. Davon konnte sich ein zweiköpfiges Team von AzetPR bei Sandvik Coromant in Schweden überzeugen. Gemeinsam mit unserem Kunden Okuma Europe hat der Werkzeughersteller eine intelligente Fertigungszelle konzipiert, die eine komplett unbemannte Fertigung erlaubt – 24 Stunden am Tag, sieben Tage die Woche.

Okuma steuerte neben einer hochmodernen Multitasking Maschine auch eine neuartige Softwarelösung bei, die eine lückenlose Kommunikation zwischen einem Roboter für den Werkzeugwechsel, der Okuma-Maschine und dem Produktionsplanungssystem von Sandvik Coromant ermöglicht. 

Das mussten wir uns aus der Nähe ansehen! Für eine Anwenderreportage machten sich zwei unserer Redakteure auf in die schwedische Kleinstadt Gimo. Hier unterhält Sandvik Coromant eine der größten Werkzeugfabriken der Welt, in welcher die neue Fertigungszelle im letzten Jahr Ihren Dienst angetreten hat. Im Interview vor Ort fassten die Verantwortlichen den Zweck des Projekts in klare Worte: „Wir wollen die weltbeste Fabrik erschaffen.“

Wie die beiden Unternehmen dieses ambitionierte Ziel in Angriff genommen haben, verrät der Artikel, der seit Dezember 2016 in der internationalen Fachpresse veröffentlicht wird.